No. 2 Oklahoma leads with 3 1st-team AP All-Americans

Dec 11, 2017 - 5:03 PM No. 2 Oklahoma will bring three All-Americans to the College Football Playoff. Quarterback Baker Mayfield, offensive tackle Orlando Brown and tight end Mark Andrews of Oklahoma were selected to The Associated Press All-America team, giving the Sooners more players on the first team than any school. The All-America team, selected by a panel of 17 Top 25 voters, was released Monday. Four of the top five vote-getters for the Heisman Trophy made the first team, including the runaway winner Mayfield. Stanford's Bryce Love, the Heisman runner-up, and San Diego State's Rashaad Penny, the nation's leading rusher and fifth-place finisher for the Heisman, were the first-team running backs. Penn State's Saquon Barkley, who finished fourth in the Heisman voting, made the team as an all-purpose player. Louisville's Lamar Jackson, last year's Heisman winner and All-America quarterback, was selected to the second team. ___ The Associated Press All-America teams: FIRST TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback — Baker Mayfield, senior, Oklahoma. Running backs — Bryce Love, junior, Stanford; Rashaad Penny, senior, San Diego State. Tackles — Orlando Brown, junior, Oklahoma; Mike McGlinchey, senior, Notre Dame. Guards — Quenton Nelson, senior, Notre Dame; Braden Smith, senior, Auburn. Center — Billy Price, senior, Ohio State. Tight end — Mark Andrews, junior, Oklahoma. Receivers — James Washington, senior, Oklahoma State; Anthony Miller, senior, Memphis. All-purpose player — Saquon Barkley, junior, Penn State. Kicker — Matt Gay, junior, Utah. DEFENSE Ends — Bradley Chubb, senior, North Carolina State; Clelin Ferrell, sophomore, Clemson. Tackles — Hercules Mata'afa, junior, Washington State; Maurice Hurst, senior, Michigan. Linebackers — Roquan Smith, junior, Georgia; Josey Jewell, senior, Iowa; T.J. Edwards, junior, Wisconsin. Cornerbacks — Josh Jackson, junior, Iowa; Denzel Ward, junior, Ohio State. Safeties — Minkah Fitzpatrick, junior, Alabama; DeShon Elliott, junior, Texas. Punter — Michael Dickson, junior, Texas. ___ SECOND TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback — Lamar Jackson, junior, Louisville. Running backs — Jonathan Taylor, freshman, Wisconsin; Kerryon Johnson, junior, Auburn. Tackles — Mitch Hyatt, junior, Clemson; Isaiah Wynn, senior, Georgia. Guards — Cody O'Connell, senior, Washington State; Will Hernandez, senior, UTEP. Center — Bradley Bozeman, senior, Alabama. Tight end — Troy Fumagalli, senior, Wisconsin. Receivers — David Sills V, junior, West Virginia; Michael Gallup, senior, Colorado State. All-purpose player — Dante Pettis, senior, Washington. Kicker — Daniel Carlson, senior, Auburn. DEFENSE Ends — Sutton Smith, sophomore, Northern Illinois; Nick Bosa, sophomore, Ohio State. Tackles — Ed Oliver, sophomore, Houston; Christian Wilkins, junior, Clemson. Linebackers — Malik Jefferson, junior, Texas; Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, senior, Oklahoma; Dorian O'Daniel, senior, Clemson. Cornerbacks — Jalen Davis, senior, Utah State; Carlton Davis, junior, Auburn. Safeties — Derwin James, junior, Florida State; Justin Reid, junior, Stanford. Punter — Johnny Townsend, senior, Florida. ____ THIRD TEAM OFFENSE Quarterback — Mason Rudolph, senior, Oklahoma State. Running backs — Ronald Jones II, junior, Southern California; Devin Singletary, sophomore, Florida Atlantic. Tackles — David Edwards, sophomore, Wisconsin; Jonah Williams, sophomore, Alabama. Guards — Beau Benzschawel, junior, Wisconsin; Tyrone Crowder, senior, Clemson. Center — Frank Ragnow, senior, Arkansas. Tight end — Jaylen Samuels, senior, North Carolina State. Receivers — Steve Ishmael, senior, Syracuse; A.J. Brown, sophomore, Mississippi. All-purpose player — D.J. Reed, junior, Kansas State. Kicker — Eddy Piniero, junior, Florida. DEFENSE Ends — Austin Bryant, junior, Clemson; Mat Boesen, senior, TCU. Tackles — Vita Vea, junior, Washington; Harrison Phillips, senior, Stanford. Linebackers — Micah Kiser, senior, Virginia; Tremaine Edmunds, junior, Virginia Tech; Devin Bush, sophomore, Michigan. Cornerbacks — Andraez Williams, redshirt freshman, LSU; Jack Jones, sophomore, Southern California. Safeties — Armani Watts, senior, Texas A&M; Quin Blanding, senior, Virginia. Punter — Mitch Wisnowsky, junior, Utah. ___ Voters: Bob Asmussen, Champaign (Illinois) News-Gazette; Kirk Bohls, Austin (Texas) American-Statesman; Matt Brown, Sports on Earth; Pat Caputo, The Oakland (Michigan) Press; Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News; Robert Cessna, Bryan-College Station (Texas) Eagle; Rece Davis, ESPN; Jon Wilner, San Jose (California) Mercury News; Pat Dooley, Gainesville (Florida) Sun; Dave Foster, Fox 17 WZTV, Nashville, Tennessee; Scott Hamilton, WCOG-AM, Greensboro, North Carolina; Eric Hansen, The South Bend (Indiana) Tribune; Rob Long, WJZ-FM The Fan, Baltimore; Tony Parks, 1280 AM/97.5 FM KZNS, Salt Lake City; Soren Petro, 810 WHB, Kansas City, Missouri; Keith Sargeant, Ledger, Newark, New Jersey. ___ More AP college football: and

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!