NHL admits Avs' goal should've counted on coach's challenge

Oct 20, 2017 - 8:13 PM NEW YORK (AP) — The NHL has acknowledged video review incorrectly nullified a late-game goal by the Colorado Avalanche during a 4-3 loss to the St. Louis Blues. In a statement released Friday, the league said it made a mistake by taking away Sven Andrighetto's goal late in the third period on a coach's challenge for offside. The review determined that the play was offside, but on a previous entry into the zone, which is not supposed to subject to a challenge. By rule, challenges can only be made on the entry into the offensive zone before a goal. Because of that, the league says "the goal should have counted." If the goal had counted, the Avalanche and Blues would have been tied at 4-all at 17:26 of the third period and St. Louis would have been given a two-minute minor penalty. This is the first time since coach's challenges were instituted before the 2015-16 season that the NHL has admitted a mistake was made on an offside review. ___ More AP NHL: https://apnews.com/tag/NHLhockey






No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!