NBDL grants Utah's protest

Jan 13, 2009 - 7:28 PM NEW YORK (Ticker) -- Due to a scoring error, the NBA Development League on Tuesday granted Utah's protest of its 104-102 loss to Colorado on December 26.

The league ordered the teams to replay the final 25.2 seconds of the game with the score tied 102-102, marking the first time the NBDL has upheld a protest in its eight-year history.

Utah protested the defeat after Bill Walker was incorrectly disqualified by fouls with 25.2 seconds left.

It should only have been his fifth personal as a foul against teammate J.R. Giddens with 9:24 remaining in the second quarter was mistakenly credited to Walker by Colorado's official scorer.

The replay will occur April 10 at Utah before the teams' regularly scheduled game.

Walker and Giddens have since been recalled to the NBA by the Boston Celtics, meaning Utah will be able to use any available players if they are not reassigned before the rematch.

Last season, the NBA granted its first protest since 1982 when Atlanta and Miami replayed the final 51.9 seconds of a Hawks' victory because the official scorer ruled incorrectly that Shaquille O'Neal fouled out.

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!

Related News