Stetson S Payne again on all-PFL team

Dec 1, 2015 - 10:16 PM (STATS) - A day after becoming the fourth player in Pioneer Football League history to be named defensive player of the year in consecutive seasons, Stetson junior safety Donald Payne earned first-team honors for the third straight time Tuesday.

He is joined on the first team by Morehead State junior quarterback Austin Gahafer, named the PFL offensive player of the year Monday. Payne and Morehead State senior defensive back Justin Grier were the only unanimous selections.

Seven players earned their second consecutive first-team selections, while Drake fifth-year linebacker John Hugunin and Dayton senior kicker William Will returned to the first team after also earning the honor in 2013.

PFL co-champion Dayton led the way with eight first-team selections.




QB Austin Gahafer, Morehead State

RB De'Shawn Jones, Campbell

RB Ulysses Bryant, Jacksonville

FB Chris Campano, San Diego

WR Justin Cornwall, Morehead State

WR Andy Jones, Jacksonville

WR William Morris, Davidson

TE Eric Saubert, Drake

OL Jack Beck, Drake

OL Pono Keni, San Diego

OL Zac Morgan, Dayton

OL Jeff Starr, San Diego

OL Jimmy Vogel, Dayton



DL Ugonna Awuruonye, Campbell

DL Demetrius Williams, Marist

DL Mack Marrin, Drake

DL Greg Milhouse Jr., Campbell

LB Christopher Beaschler, Dayton

LB Alex Green, Valparaiso

LB John Hugunin, Drake

LB Grady Redding, Jacksonville

DB Justin Grier, Morehead State

DB Donald Payne, Stetson

DB Christian Searles, Dayton

DB Cameron Stubbs, Dayton



P Sean Smith, Dayton

PK William Will, Dayton

RS Christian Searles, Dayton

LS Jakey Dunagan, Morehead State

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!