CRAFTSMAN TRUCK New Hampshire 200

  for this game

Hornaday Jr. becomes first NCTS repeat winner at New Hampshire

Sep 15, 2007 - 9:44 PM LOUDON, New Hampshire (Ticker) -- Ron Hornaday Jr. won the New Hampshire 200 from the pole Saturday, becoming the first repeat winner on the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series at New Hampshire International Speedway.

Hornaday, who led a race-high 174 laps in a Chevrolet Silverado, won the inaugural NCTS race on the 1.058-mile oval in 1996.

It was Hornaday's fourth win of the season and 33rd career - the most in series history.

"What an awesome truck," Hornaday said. "We're not just going to lay down because we're leading the points. We want to run hard and run up front all the time."

Hornaday, a two-time series champion, increased his lead in the standings to 29 points over Mike Skinner, who finished third in a Toyota Tundra.

"He put a whipping on us today," Skinner said of Hornaday. "He just had a better truck."

Erik Darnell was second in a Ford F-150, 4.21 seconds behind Hornaday's dominant truck which started on the pole after qualifying was rained out.

"We struggled during practice, but we made some adjustments during the race and had some good pit stops," Darnell said.

Todd Bodine was fourth in a Toyota, followed by Mike Bliss in a Dodge Ram.

Rick Crawford was sixth in a Ford, followed by the Toyotas of Ted Musgrave and Johnny Benson. Jon Wood was ninth in a Ford, and Shane Sieg's Chevrolet rounded out the top 10.

Only 11 trucks finished on the lead lap.

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!

Related News