All-Missouri Valley Conference talent is widespread

Nov 30, 2015 - 4:37 PM (STATS) - The Missouri Valley Football Conference continues to be considered the strongest league in the FCS, but it hasn't just been the seniors leading the way this season.

Widespread talent was evident Monday when 16 of the 29 players named to the all-MVFC first team were underclassmen.

The selections even extended down to two freshmen on the first team: South Dakota defensive end Andrew Van Ginkel and Youngstown State kicker Zak Kennedy.

Two seniors led the first team, though: Illinois State running back Marshaun Coprich, named last week as the conference's offensive player of the year, and Northern Iowa cornerback Deiondre' Hall, named the MVFC defensive player of the year.

North Dakota State had the most first-team selections with seven, while Illinois State and Northern Iowa had five apiece. All 10 teams had at least one first-team selection.

Western Illinois' Bob Nielson was named the MVFC coach of the year last week. Other winners were Van Ginkel (top freshman) and Northern Iowa quarterback Aaron Bailey (newcomer).




QB - Mark Iannotti, Southern Illinois, Sr.

QB - Tre Roberson, Illinois State, Sr.

RB - Marshaun Coprich, Illinois State, Sr.

RB - Nikko Watson, Western Illinois, Sr.

FB - Andrew Bonnet, North Dakota State, Sr.

WR - Anthony Warrum, Illinois State, Jr.

WR - Jake Wieneke, South Dakota State, So.

TE - Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State, So.

OL - Joe Haeg, North Dakota State, Sr.

OL - Zack Johnson, North Dakota State, Jr.

OL - Jacob Rathmacher, Northern Iowa, Sr.

OL - Mark Spelman, Illinois State, Jr.

OL - Ethan Wirth, Southern Illinois, Sr.


DL - Greg Menard, North Dakota State, So.

DL - Derek Rivers, Youngstown State, Jr.

DL - Karter Schult, Northern Iowa, Jr.

DL - Andrew Van Ginkel, South Dakota, Fr.

LB - Dylan Cole, Missouri State, Jr.

LB - Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State, Jr.

LB - Brett McMakin, Northern Iowa, Jr.

LB - Pat Meehan, Illinois State, Sr.

DB - LeRoy Alexander, Youngstown State, Jr.

DB - Deiondre' Hall, Northern Iowa, Sr.

DB - Tim Kilfoy, Northern Iowa, Sr.

DB - C.J. Smith, North Dakota State, Sr.


PK - Zak Kennedy, Youngstown State, Fr.

LS - Joshua Appel, Indiana State, Jr.

P - Ben LeCompte, North Dakota State, Sr.

RS - Deion Holliman, Missouri State, So.

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!