Gahafer, Payne headline PFL award recipients

Nov 30, 2015 - 7:40 PM (STATS) - Morehead State quarterback Austin Gahafer and Stetson safety Donald Payton were named the Pioneer Football League's offensive and defensive players of the year Monday.

Dayton's Rick Chamberlin won the league's coach of the year award.

Gahafer, a junior from Louisville, became Morehead State's second winner of the PFL offensive player of the year award. He threw for 3,244 yards and 24 touchdowns against 10 interceptions, ranking among the FCS top 10 in five categories. He also rushed for three touchdowns and caught two more.

Payne, a junior from Fayetteville, Georgia, became the fourth player in PFL history to be named its defensive player of the year in consecutive seasons. He tied for the FCS lead with 7.2 solo tackles per game during the regular season, helping him to finish 11th with 11.4 total tackles per game. He also ranked among the top 20 in passes defended (14th, 1.3) and tackles for loss (19th, 1.5).

Chamberlin led Dayton to a share of the PFL title and the Flyers' first bid to the FCS playoffs. They finished with a 10-2 record.

Dayton's Nick Kaczkowski and Butler's Guy DiBalsamo shared the PFL's first special teams player of the year award. Also, San Diego quarterback Anthony Lawrence received the freshman offensive player of the year award and Campbell linebacker Jack Ryan was named freshman defensive player of the year.

The PFL will announce its all-league team Tuesday.

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!