F1 Grand Prix Of Canada

  for this game

Grand Prix of Canada Preview

Jun 9, 2007 - 10:50 AM
June 10, 2007
Gilles Villeneuve Circuit
Montreal, Canada
Race 6 of 17 in Grand Prix Series

Laps: 70
Race length: 189.545 miles
Track length: 2.75 miles


Fernando Alonso (Spain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 38 (T-1st)

Won at Monaco two weeks ago to climb into tie with rookie
teammate Lewis Hamilton atop the series point standings; Ran
third at hometown Spanish Grand Prix four weeks ago to fall out
of standings lead; struggled to fifth place from the pole at
Bahrain to fall into a three-way first-place tie with Hamilton
and Kimi Raikkonen; stormed to an easy victory at Malaysia and
registered a second-place finish in his McLaren debut at
Australia, finishing 7.2 seconds behind Raikkonen; two-time
reigning circuit champion ended his Renault run in style,
capturing seven checkered flags last season; won this event last
season, one of his four consecutive victories from May 14-June

Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy)
Team: Renault
2007 Points: 13 (6th)

Ran fourth at Monaco to collect five points and claim sole
possession of sixth in the standings; failed to register a point
at Spain after finishing ninth and fell into tie with Robert
Kubica for sixth in the standings; ran eighth at Bahrain and
finished sixth at Malaysia after running fifth at Australia;
coming off remarkably consistent 2006 season in which he placed
inside the top six in 16 of 18 races; ran fourth in this event
last season; registered nine top-five finishes en route to
placing a career-best fourth in the final standings; will be the
face of Renault this season with Alonso's departure to McLaren.

Lewis Hamilton (Britain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 38 (T-1st)

Surprising series co-leader has placed second in four
consecutive races and is tied with teammate Alonso; rookie
sensation has burst onto the circuit by storm, running third at
Australia and placing second at Malaysia, Bahrain, Spain and
Monaco; finished 18 seconds behind Alonso at Malaysia and is
first rookie in series history since 1964 to capture podium
finishes in his first three races; also is the first black
driver in series history.

Felipe Massa (Brazil)
Team: Ferrari
2007 Points: 33 (3rd)

Ran third at Monaco after capturing two straight checkered flags
at Bahrain and Spain; is in sole possession of third place,
just five points off Hamilton's pace; finished fifth at
Malaysia; the top driver at Ferrari after Michael Schumacher's
retirement who kicked off his campaign with a sixth place at
Australia; enjoyed a breakthrough 2006 season in which he placed
a career-best third in the standings; captured his first career
checkered flag at Turkey and also won the season finale at
Brazil; was runner-up at Germany, Japan and the American Grand
Prix and also recorded 11 top-five finishes; finished fifth in
this event last season.

Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)
Team: Ferrari
2007 Points: 23 (4th)

Struggled to eighth place at Monaco but remained fourth in the
standings; retired due to electrical problems at Spain and fell
from first to fourth in the standings; trails Hamilton and
Alonso by 15 points; registered his second consecutive
third-place finish at Bahrain to climb into three-way tie with
Hamilton and Alonso for first; had a dazzling debut with new
team Ferrari, capturing the checkered flag in the season opener
at Australia; joined Ferrari after spending the last five years
with McLaren; struggled through bad luck and faulty equipment
last season, recording 12 top-five finishes but retiring with
various technical problems in the other six races; ran third in
this event last season.

2006 Top 10
1. Fernando Alonso, Spain, Renault
2. Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari
3. Kimi Raikkonen, Finland, McLaren-Mercedes
4. Giancarlo Fisichella, Italy, Renault
5. Felipe Massa, Brazil, Ferrari
6. Jarno Trulli, Italy, Toyota
7. Nick Heidfeld, Germany, Sauber-BMW
8. David Coulthard, Britain, RBR-Ferrari
9. Jenson Button, Britain, Honda
10. Scott Speed, United States, STR-Cosworth

Past Champions
2006 Fernando Alonso, Renault
2005 Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren-Mercedes
2004 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2003 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2002 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2001 Ralf Schumacher, Williams BMW
2000 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1999 Mika Hakkinen, McLaren-Mercedes
1998 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1997 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1996 Damon Hill, Williams
1995 Jean Alesi, Ferrari
1994 Michael Schumacher, Benetton
1993 Alain Prost, Williams
1992 Gerhard Berger, McLaren
1991 Nelson Piquet, Benetton
1990 Ayrton Senna, McLaren
1989 Thierry Boutsen, Williams
1988 Ayrton Senna, McLaren
1987 (no race)
1986 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1985 Michele Alboreto, Ferrari
1984 Nelson Piquet, Brabham

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!

Related News