F1 Grand Prix Of France

  for this game

Grand Prix de France Preview

Jul 1, 2007 - 10:34 AM
July 1, 2007 
Circuit de Nevers
Magny-Cours, France
Race 8 of 17 in Grand Prix Series

Laps: 70
Track length: 2.74 miles
Race length: 191.746 miles


Fernando Alonso (Spain)
Team: McLaren 2007
Points: 48 (2nd)

Finished second last week in Indianapolis to remain in second
place in the standings, but is now 10 points behind rookie
teammate Lewis Hamilton who won the past two races; struggled to
seventh at the Canadian Grand Prix; won at Monaco and ran third
at hometown Spanish Grand Prix six weeks ago; struggled to
fifth place from the pole; stormed to an easy victory at
Malaysia and registered a second-place finish in his McLaren
debut at Australia, finishing 7.2 seconds behind Kimi Raikkonen;
finished second in this event last season.

Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy)
Team: Renault
2007 Points: 13 (6th)

Finished ninth in the United States Grand Prix and was
black-flagged at Canada but still remains sixth in the
standings; ran fourth at Monaco to collect five points and claim
sole possession of sixth; failed to register a point at Spain
after finishing ninth; ran eighth at Bahrain and finished sixth
at Malaysia after running fifth at Australia; ran sixth in this
event last season.

Lewis Hamilton (Britain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 58 (1st)

Surprising series leader made history at Canada, becoming the
first black driver to win a Formula One race; followed that
victory in Canada by winning the United States Grand Prix;
placed second in four consecutive races prior to his
back-to-back wins; rookie sensation has burst onto the circuit
by storm, running third at Australia and placing second at
Malaysia, Bahrain, Spain and Monaco; finished 18 seconds behind
Alonso at Malaysia and is first rookie in series history since
1964 to capture podium finishes in his first three races; also
is the first black driver in series history.

Felipe Massa (Brazil)
Team: Ferrari 2007
Points: 39 (3rd)

Also was black-flagged at Canada but remained third in the
standings after finishing third in Indianapolis, 19 points
behind Hamilton; ran third at Monaco after capturing two
straight checkered flags at Bahrain and Spain; finished fifth at
Malaysia; the top driver at Ferrari after Michael Schumacher's
retirement; kicked off his campaign with a sixth place at
Australia; was third in this race last season.

Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)
Team: Ferrari 2007
Points: 32 (4th)

Finished fourth at Indianapolis and fifth at Canada but remains
fourth in the standings; struggled to eighth place at Monaco and
retired due to electrical problems at Spain and fell from first
to fourth in the standings; trails Hamilton by 26 points;
registered his second consecutive third-place finish at Bahrain
to climb into three-way tie with Hamilton and Alonso for first;
had a dazzling debut with new team Ferrari, capturing the
checkered flag in the season opener at Australia; joined Ferrari
after spending the last five years with McLaren.

2006 Top 10
1. Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari
2. Fernando Alonso, Spain, Renault
3. Felipe Massa, Brazil, Ferrari
4. Ralf Schumacher, Germany, Toyota
5. Kimi Rikknen, Finland, McLaren-Mercedes
6. Giancarlo Fisichella, Italy, Renault
7. Pedro de la Rosa, Spain, McLaren-Mercedes
8. Nick Heidfeld, Germany, Sauber-BMW
9. David Coulthard, Great Britain, Ferrari
10. Scott Speed, United States, Cosworth

Past Champions
2006 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2005 Fernando Alonso, Renault
2004 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2003 Ralf Schumacher, Williams-BMW
2002 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2001 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2000 David Coulthard, McLaren-Mercedes
1999 Heinz-Harald Frentzen, Jordan-Mugen Honda
1998 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1997 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1996 Damon Hill, Williams
1995 Michael Schumacher, Benetton
1994 Michael Schumacher, Benetton
1993 Alain Prost, Williams
1992 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1991 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1990* Alain Prost, Ferrari
1989 Alain Prost, McLaren
1988 Alain Prost, McLaren
1987 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1986 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1985 Nelson Piquet, Brabham
1984# Niki Lauda, McLaren

*-race held at Le Castellet
#-race held at Dijon

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!

Related News