F1 Foster's British Grand Prix

  for this game

Santander British Grand Prix Preview

Jul 8, 2007 - 10:49 AM
July 8, 2007
Silverstone Circuits Limited
Northamptonshire, England

Laps: 60
Track length: 3.2 miles
Race length: 191.6 miles


Fernando Alonso (Spain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 50 (2nd)

Looks to rebound from a lost weekend at the French Grand Prix,
where he finished seventh to fall further behind rookie teammate
Lewis Hamilton in the standings; is second but trails Hamilton
by 14 points; was runner-up to Hamilton at Indianapolis; won at
Monaco and ran third at hometown Spanish Grand Prix; stormed to
an easy victory at Malaysia and registered a second-place finish
in his McLaren debut at Australia, finishing 7.2 seconds behind
Kimi Raikkonen; won this event last season.

Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy)
Team: Renault
2007 Points: 16 (7th)

Ran sixth last week at Magny-Cours and is seventh in the
standings; finished ninth in at Indianapolis and was
black-flagged at Canada; ran fourth at Monaco to collect five
points and claim sole possession of sixth; failed to register a
point at Spain after finishing ninth; ran eighth at Bahrain and
finished sixth at Malaysia after running fifth at Australia;
finished fourth in this race last year.

Lewis Hamilton (Britain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 64 (1st)

Finished third at Magny-Cours but actually gained ground on
struggling Alonso; surprising series leader made history at
Canada, becoming the first black driver to win a Formula One
race; followed that victory in Canada by winning the United
States Grand Prix; placed second in four consecutive races prior
to his back-to-back wins; rookie sensation has burst onto the
circuit by storm, running third at Australia and placing second
at Malaysia, Bahrain, Spain and Monaco; finished 18 seconds
behind Alonso at Malaysia and is first rookie in series history
since 1964 to capture podium finishes in his first three races;
also is the first black driver in series history.

Felipe Massa (Brazil)
Team: Ferrari
2007 Points: 47 (3rd)

Was runner-up to Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen last week at
Magny-Cours and remained third in the standings; also was
black-flagged at Canada; ran third at Indianapolis and Monaco
after capturing two straight checkered flags at Bahrain and
Spain; finished fifth at Malaysia; the top driver at Ferrari
after Michael Schumacher's retirement; kicked off his campaign
with a sixth place at Australia; ran fifth in this race last

Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)
Team: Ferrari
2007 Points: 42 (4th)

Recorded his second victory of the season last week at
Magny-Cours but remained fourth in the standings; finished
fourth at Indianapolis and fifth at Canada; struggled to eighth
place at Monaco and retired due to electrical problems at Spain,
dropping him from first to fourth in the standings; registered
his second consecutive third-place finish at Bahrain to climb
into three-way tie with Hamilton and Alonso for first; had a
dazzling debut with new team Ferrari, capturing the checkered
flag in the season opener at Australia; joined Ferrari after
spending the last five years with McLaren; finished third in
this event last season.

2006 Top 10
1. Fernando Alonso, Spain, Renault
2. Michael Schumacher, Germany, Ferrari
3. Kimi Raikkonen, Finland, McLaren-Mercedes
4. Giancarlo Fisichella, Italy, Renault
5. Felipe Massa, Brazil, Ferrari
6. Juan Pablo Montoya, Colombia, McLaren-Mercedes
7. Nick Heidfeld, Germany, Sauber-BMW
8. Jacques Villeneuve, Canada, Sauber-BMW
9. Nico Rosberg, Germany, Williams-Cosworth
10. Rubens Barrichello, Brazil, Honda

Past Champions
2006 Fernando Alonso, Renault
2005 Juan Pablo Montoya, McLaren-Mercedes
2004 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2003 Rubens Barrichello, Ferrari
2002 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2001 Mika Hakkinen, McLaren-Mercedes
2000 David Coulthard, McLaren-Mercedes
1999 David Coulthard, McLaren-Mercedes
1998 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1997 Jacques Villeneuve, Williams
1996 Jacques Villeneuve, Williams
1995 Johnny Herbert, Benetton
1994 Damon Hill, Williams
1993 Alain Prost, Williams
1992 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1991 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1990 Alain Prost, Ferrari
1989 Alain Prost, McLaren
1988 Aryton Senna, McLaren
1987 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1986 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1985 Alain Prost, McLaren
1984 Niki Lauda, McLaren

Related News