F1 Belgian Grand Prix

  for this game

Belgian Grand Prix Preview

Sep 16, 2007 - 10:39 AM
September 16, 2007 
Circuit de Spa
Francorchamps, Belgium
Race 14 of 17 in Grand Prix Series

Laps: 44
Track length: 4.329 miles
Race length: 191.4 miles

Lap Record: Kimi Raikkonen, 1:45.108 (2004)


Fernando Alonso (Spain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 89 (2nd)

Won the Italian Grand Prix last week and and now trails rookie
teammate and series leader Lewis Hamilton, who was second, by
just three points; finished third at the Turkish Grand Prix and
ran fourth in Hungary prior to that; won the Grand Prix of
Europe to climb within two points of Hamilton on July 22; has
finished in the top five in 11 of 13 starts this season;
finished seventh at both the French and Canadian Grands Prix;
placed second at the Santander British Grand Prix and was
runner-up to Hamilton at Indianapolis; won at Monaco and ran
third at hometown Spanish Grand Prix; stormed to an easy victory
at Malaysia and registered a second-place finish in his McLaren
debut at Australia, finishing 7.2 seconds behind Kimi
Raikkonen; finished second to Raikkonen at this event the last
time it was run in 2005.

Lewis Hamilton (Britain)
Team: McLaren
2007 Points: 92 (1st)

The points leader ran second to Alonso at Italy and now leads
his teammate by three points atop the standings; finished fifth
in Turkey two weeks after winning the Hungarian Grand Prix;
finished ninth at the Grand Prix of Europe; took third in
back-to-back races at the British Grand Prix and Magny-Cours,
after making history at Canada where he became the first black
driver to win a Formula One race; followed that victory in
Canada by winning the United States Grand Prix; placed second in
four consecutive races prior to his back-to-back wins; rookie
sensation has burst onto the circuit by storm, running third at
Australia and placing second at Malaysia, Bahrain, Spain and
Monaco; finished 18 seconds behind Alonso at Malaysia and is the
first rookie in series history since 1964 to capture podium
finishes in his first three races; also is the first black
driver in series history; has finished among the top five in all
but one start this year.

Nick Heidfeld (Germany)
Team: BMW Sauber
2007 Points: 52 (5th)

Posted second consecutive fourth-place finishes at Italy and
Turkey to remain fifth in the standings; was third in Hungary
following consecutive sixth-place finishes over the previous two
races; still seeking first win of the season; opened the year
with three consecutive fourth place finishes at Australia,
Malaysia and Bahrain; had best race of the season at Canada
where he finished second; forced to retire at Spain and the
United States Grand Prix; has eight top-five finishes in 13
starts this year.

Felipe Massa (Brazil)
Team: Ferrari
2007 Points: 69 (4th)

Retired from the Italian Grand Prix with suspension problems,
dropping to fourth place in the standings; trails Ferrari
teammate Kimi Raikkonen by five points for third; bounced back
from a 13th-place finish at Hungary by winning in Turkey; posted
a runner-up finish at the Grand Prix of Europe after slipping
to fourth place following a fifth place finish British Grand
Prix; was runner-up to Raikkonen at Magny-Cours; also was
black-flagged at Canada; ran third at Indianapolis and Monaco
after capturing two straight checkered flags at Bahrain and
Spain; finished fifth at Malaysia; kicked off his campaign with
a sixth place at Australia; has eight top five finishes in 12
starts this season; finished 10th at this race in 2005.

Kimi Raikkonen (Finland)
Team: Ferrari
2007 Points: 74 (3rd)

Finished third at Italy to move up to third in the standings,
five points ahead of teammate Massa; ran second at Turkey,
following a runner-up finish Hungary; retired from the Grand
Prix of Europe after consecutive checkered flag wins at the
British Grand Prix and Magny-Cours; has three wins and 10
top-five finishes in 13 starts; finished fourth at Indianapolis
and fifth at Canada; struggled to eighth place at Monaco and
retired due to electrical problems at Spain, dropping him from
first to fourth in the standings; had a dazzling debut with new
team Ferrari, capturing the checkered flag in the season opener
at Australia; joined Ferrari after spending the last five years
with McLaren; won this race the last two times it was run.

Past Champions
2006 no race
2005 Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren-Mercedes
2004 Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren-Mercedes
2003 no race
2002 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2001 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
2000 Mika Hakkinen, McLaren-Mercedes
1999 David Coulthard, McLaren-Mercedes
1998 Damon Hill, Jordan Mugen-Honda
1997 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1996 Michael Schumacher, Ferrari
1995 Michael Schumacher, Benetton
1994 Damon Hill, Williams
1993 Damon Hill, Williams
1992 Michael Schumacher, Benetton
1991 Ayrton Senna, McLaren
1990 Ayrton Senna, McLaren
1989 Ayrton Senna, McLaren
1988 Ayrton Senna, McLaren
1987 Alain Prost, McLaren
1986 Nigel Mansell, Williams
1985 Ayrton Senna, Lotus
1984 Michele Alboreto, Ferrari

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!

Related News