NATIONWIDE Dollar General 300

  for this game

Dollar General 300 Preview

Oct 7, 2008 - 5:33 PM
October 10, 2008
Lowe's Motor Speedway
Concord, North Carolina
Race 31 of 35 on the Nationwide Series circuit

Laps: 200
Track length: 1 1/2 mile
Race length: 300 miles

TV: ESPN2, 7:30 p.m.

Qualifying record: Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet, 187.735 mph
(October, 2005)
Race record: Mark Martin, Ford, 155.996 mph (May, 1996)


Clint Bowyer
Team: Richard Childress Racing
Car: No. 2 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
2008 Earnings: $898,495

Remains the series leader though he has just one victory this
season - when he gambled and stayed out during a rain delay to
win at Bristol; followed with second at Nashville and third at
Texas; is 196 points ahead of Carl Edwards after finishing
second at Kansas; through first 29 races has 11 top fives and 24
top 10s; started the year with a 25th at Daytona, then rebounded
with a ninth at California; ran a full Busch series slate in
2005 and 2006, finishing second and third, respectively, in the
final standings; finished 12th overall last year after running
just 22 races, winning at Phoenix and Richmond; ran eighth here
the past two seasons.

Carl Edwards
Team: Roush Fenway Racing
Car: No. 60 Ford Fusion
2008 Earnings: $1,002,200

Followed up win at Richmond by running fifth at Dover and fourth
at Kansas; remains second in the standings and trails Clint
Bowyer by 196 points; had a disappointing 37th-place finish at
Bristol - his worst showing of the year excluding Darlington,
where a wreck left him in 43rd; defending series champion has
four wins this year; won for the second time this season at
Gateway, then followed up with an 11th at O'Reilly; also won at
Milwaukee, then followed up with a fifth at New Hampshire and
11th at Daytona; ran second at Dover; was fourth at Atlanta
after being wrecked by Mark Martin at Las Vegas, winding up
14th; opened defense of his series title with a 10th at Daytona
and fifth at California; clinched last season's title at Texas,
three races before the end of the season; was the runner-up to
Kevin Harvick two seasons ago; despite late struggles still had
a series-best 21 top-10 finishes and 15 top fives last season;
led in the series standings for 33 consecutive weeks prior to
Daytona this year; in 35 starts last season had four wins,
trailing only Harvick, who had six; posted a 33rd-place finish
here last year.

Brad Keselowski
Team: JR Motorsports
Car: No. 88 Chevrolet Monte Carlo
2008 Earnings: $1,030,800

Second-year driver sits third in the standings, 268 points
behind Clint Bowyer after running sixth at Kansas; had moved up
to second in the standings after winning at Bristol, but
followed that effort with his worst performance of the year -
placing 33rd in Fontana; followed up his first series win at
Nashville by running fourth at Kentucky and eighth at Milwaukee;
through first 30 races has 17 top 10s and 10 top fives; finished
third at Lowe's and posted consecutive fourth-place finishes at
Bristol and the first Nashville race; has only five finishes of
20th or worse this season; finished 25th in points last season
and third in Rookie of the Year standings; joined Dale Earnhardt
Jr.'s JR Motorsports team in July last season; finished 11th
here last season.

Joey Logano
Team: Joe Gibbs Racing
Car: No. 20 Toyota Camry
2008 Earnings: $511,482

Finished ninth at Kansas after a 14th at Dover; young phenom had
his car fail post-race inspection at Michigan when a magnet was
found underneath the gas pedal in order to influence dyno test;
finished 17th at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve; won his first race
and second pole at Kentucky in his third series start; captured
the pole at Nashville in just his second series start; was tapped
by Greg Biffle early in that race and wound up a disappointing
31st; finished sixth at Dover in his highly anticipated debut in
one of NASCAR's top series a week after turning 18; won the 2007
NASCAR Busch East Series championship as a rookie; signed a
development deal with Joe Gibbs Racing in 2005; was dubbed the
"Real Deal" by Mark Martin when he was 15; is Tony Stewart's
Sprint Cup replacement in the No. 20 Toyota next season.

David Ragan
Team: Roush Fenway Racing
Car: No. 6 Ford Fusion
2008 Earnings: $739,315

Sits fifth in the standings after third-place finish at Kansas;
prior to that had failed to finish higher than ninth in 10
consecutive races; is running both series this year; ran 25th at
Bristol; through first 28 races has five top fives and 17 top
10s; ran ninth at Daytona and 12th at California to start the
season, then posted a 10th at Las Vegas, ran 16th at Atlanta and
was eighth at Bristol; was eighth at Texas and fifth at Phoenix;
had an impressive rookie season, finishing fifth overall and
winning the Raybestos Rookie of the Year by 27 points over
Marcos Ambrose; scored four top-five and eight top-10 finishes
in 2007, but also had eight finishes of 30th or worse; finished
sixth as a rookie here last year.

David Reutimann
Team: Michael Waltrip Racing
Car: No. 99 Toyota Camry
2008 Earnings: $758,025

Has pulled "double-duty" in 2008 after finishing second to Carl
Edwards in the standings last season; remains sixth in the
standings after running 16th at Kansas and 17th at Dover; had
back-to-back eighth-place finishes at Bristol and Fontana; is
winless this year with 13 top 10 finishes and seven top fives;
ran 15th at Michigan; placed 26th at O'Reilly after finishing
13th at Kentucky; started season with a 14th at Daytona and ran
fourth at California; ran 25th at Las Vegas, 10th at Atlanta and
third in the Sharpie Mini 300; last year had better finishes
than Edwards in 10 of the last 15 races and scored the most
points in the series after the midseason point; earned his first
series win at the second Atlanta race; finished with five
top-fives and 12 top 10s; finished 12th in this race last year.

2007 Top 10
1. Jeff Burton (29), Chevrolet
2. Kyle Busch (5), Chevrolet
3. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (8), Chevrolet
4. Aric Almirola (18), Chevrolet
5. Denny Hamlin (20), Chevrolet
6. David Ragan (6), Ford
7. Robby Gordon (55), Chevrolet
8. Clint Bowyer (2), Chevrolet
9. Kelly Bires (47), Ford
10. Kevin Harvick (33), Chevrolet

Past Champions
2007 Jeff Burton
2006 Dave Blaney
2005 Ryan Newman
2004 Mike Bliss
2003 Greg Biffle
2002 Jeff Burton
2001 Greg Biffle
2000 Matt Kenseth
1999 Michael Waltrip
1998 Mike McLaughlin
1997 Jimmy Spencer
1996 Mark Martin
1995 Mark Martin
1994 Terry Labonte
1993 Mark Martin
1992 Jeff Gordon
1991 Harry Gant
1990 Sterling Marlin
1989 Rick Moroso
1988 Rick Moroso
1987 Harry Gant
1986 Dale Earnhardt
1985 Terry Labonte
1984 Darrell Waltrip
1983 Sam Ard
1982 Darrell Waltrip

Related News