Six Irish changes for Japan rugby Test

Jun 22, 2017 - 8:45 AM Coach Joe Schmidt has made six changes to Ireland's starting line-up for Saturday's third and final rugby Test against Japan in Tokyo.

Kieran Treadwell and James Tracy come in for their first starts. Treadwell won his first cap off the bench during last week's 50-22 win over Japan.

Josh van der Flier returns at openside flanker, while Luke Marshall is back at outside centre, joined by Jacob Stockdale on the left wing.

Keith Earls returns to the right side and Andrew Conway takes over the fullback position vacated by the injured Simon Zebo.

Japanese coach Jamie Joseph has recalled lock Luke Thompson.

Wing Akihito Yamada, back from injury, and flanker Shokei Kin have also ben added to the squad for the Test against their 2019 World Cup pool rivals.

Winger Shota Emi, flanker Hendrik Tui and centre Timothy Lafaele are out with injuries, while William Tupou is unavailable after being given a three-match ban for a dangerous play during last weekend's loss to Ireland.


Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Garry Ringrose, Luke Marshall, Jacob Stockdale, Paddy Jackson, Kieran Marmion, Cian Healy, James Tracy, John Ryan, Kieran Treadwell, Devin Toner, Rhys Ruddock (capt), Josh van der Flier, Jack Conan. Res: Niall Scannell, Dave Kilcoyne, Andrew Porter, James Ryan, Sean Reidy, John Cooney, Rory Scannell, Tiernan O'Halloran.


To be confirmed.

Source: AAP

No one has shouted yet.
Be the first!