for this game

Twins hand Hughes ball vs. D-backs

Sep 24, 2014 - 3:00 PM ( - Minnesota starter Phil Hughes can become the first Twins pitcher to reach 16 victories in four seasons when they host the Arizona Diamondbacks in the finale of a three-game series Wednesday night at Target Field.

Hughes is winless in his last three starts with a 4.29 earned run average, which put his chances of matching his career-high 18 victories out of commission, but he's nonetheless going to finish the season with a career-best in innings pitched and with an enviable strikeout to walk ratio.

His 181 strikeouts and 16 walks yields a ratio of 11.3, which is slightly better than the all-time mark of 11.0 established by Bret Saberhagen 20 years ago.

Hughes was 4-14 with the New York Yankees last season, but can become the first Minnesota pitcher to reach 16 victories since Carl Pavano was 17-11 four years ago. He's 3-0 with a 2.62 ERA in his last five starts at home.

In one meeting with Arizona last season, he allowed two runs in seven innings.

Minnesota slugger Joe Mauer was hit by a pitch in Tuesday's game and is day- to-day with a right elbow bruise.

Arizona, meanwhile, has lost 11 of 12 games on the road while batting a mere .185 and averaging 2.5 runs per game. The Diamondbacks have lost 12 of Vidal Nuno's 13 starts since he arrived from the Yankees via trade in July. Nuno gets the start tonight.

He allowed three runs in 5 1/3 innings against Colorado on Thursday before the bullpen pitched its way to a 7-6 loss to the Rockies.

"I feel sorry for V," manager Kirk Gibson said. "He's pitched really good for us."

Nuno faced the Twins on May 30 and allowed four runs in 6 2/3 innings of a 6-1 loss.

On Tuesday, Trevor Plouffe went 4-for-4 with a run scored and the Twins defeated Arizona, 6-3.

Kyle Gibson struck out eight and allowed a run on seven hits for the Twins. Andrew Chafin (0-1) surrendered four runs on seven hits and two walks over three frames for Arizona.

Arizona swept the Twins the last time these teams met back in 2011.