INDYCAR SERIES Bombardier Learjet 550K

  for this game

Dixon wins Bombardier Learjet 550

Jun 8, 2008 - 5:46 AM FORT WORTH, Texas (Ticker) -- Scott Dixon keeps adding to his impressive 2008 calendar.

Dixon rode to Victory Lane for the third time this year, taking the checkered flag at Saturday's Bombardier Learjet 550.

A New Zealander, Dixon has won three of the eight IndyRacing League events this season, all from the pole position. The winner of the 2008 Indianapolis 500, Dixon also captured the GAINSCO Auto Insurance Indy 300 in the initial race of the season.

The 27-year-old took advantage of a late crash involving Marco Andretti and 2007 Rookie of the Year Ryan Hunter-Reay to cross the finish line for an IRL race that ended under caution for the second week in a row.

"I can't believe it, it's great for the team and great for Target," said Dixon, who increased his points lead to 35 over Helio Castroneves. "We just want to win this championship. I'm sorry to see it end under caution, but it's a great way to get some points for this championship."

After Dixon passed Andretti with six laps remaining, Hunter-Reay - who was in third - collided with the 21-year-old Andretti on lap 224, causing both racers to bash into the wall.

"Marco gave me the low line on the backstretch and all day that meant that he would give me the low line in the corner as well," Hunter-Reay said "But he came down on me. I went low to avoid him and got down on the white line which upset both cars and took us out."

Andretti finished 19th, while Hunter-Reay was 20th.

While Texas Motor Speedway crews tried to collect the two damaged vehicles, Dixon cruised across the finish line.

Castroneves came in second, while Ryan Brisco - who beat Dixon in the ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt 225 last Sunday - was third. It was Castroneves' seventh straight top-five finish on the circuit.

Dan Wheldon and Tony Kanaan rounded out the top five, while Japanese rookie Hideki Mutoh came in sixth. Indy Japan 300 winner Danica Patrick finished 10th.

"I am frustrated that we did not stay up front the entire race," Patrick said. "My car was really loose most of the race, so that made it difficult to drive in traffic."

Last year's winner and three-time IRL champion Sam Hornish Jr. did not participate, as he now is a rookie on the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series circuit.

Related News